Insurance: Liability

Category: 
Understanding California's Oversight & Regulation

Whether to carry liability insurance is no longer left to the discretion of the licensee.  Effective 7/1/2015 there is a law requiring every RCFE in the state to carry liability insurance compliant with the statute, Health and Safety Code 1569.605.  

Because this is a new requirement, CARR recommends that consumers ask the licensee to produce proof of insurance to be assured the facility has the coverage required under the new law:  $1,000,000 per occurrence, and $3,000,000 in aggregate.  

This law was sponsored and drafted by CARR, introduced and carried by Speaker of the Assembly (Emeritus) Toni Atkins.  

 

 

See the sections inside …

Body:

Keep in touch with what’s happening in California about assisted living and RCFE legislation and related items.